Welfare to Work

Select Committee Disability Living Allowance

Work and Pensions Committee


Select Committee Announcement

17 November 2011

For Immediate Release:

AN57 2010–12




Proposal to replace DLA with Personal Independence Payment


Wednesday 23 November 2011, Committee Room 15, House of Commons

At 9.30 am


  • Neil Coyle, Director of Policy, Disability Alliance
  •  Paul Farmer, Chief Executive, Mind
  •  Amanda Batten, Director of External Affairs, National Autistic Society
  •  Geoff Fimister, Campaigns Officer, RNIB
  •  Eugene Grant, Public Policy Officer, Scope

The Work and Pensions Committee has launched an inquiry into the Government’s proposal to introduce Personal Independence Payment (PIP) from 2013, replacing Disability Living Allowance (DLA) for working age claimants by 2015/16.

PIP will be similar to DLA in that it will be a non-means tested, non-contributory tax-free cash benefit paid to people whose disabilities mean they incur extra costs in everyday life; however, the Government aims to simplify the benefit and reduce expenditure by introducing a new assessment for PIP and by changing some of the current rules. The changes include: systematic periodic review of most PIP awards; ending automatic entitlement for specific conditions; replacing DLA’s three rates in the care component with two rates in the new daily living component; and extending the Qualifying Period from 3 months to 6 months.
This is the second evidence session in the inquiry. The Committee will explore the case for reform and the Government’s approach to it. It will also consider the latest draft of the PIP assessment criteria and plans for the delivery of the assessment. The Government’s approach to consultation and its communication strategy will also be discussed.

Further information


Written evidence: Interested organisations and individuals were invited to submit written evidence before 2 September 2011. The evidence received has been published on the Committee’s website.

Oral evidence: The Committee heard oral evidence from academics and benefits experts on 19 October 2011. A transcript is available on the Committee’s website.

Committee membership:  Dame Anne Begg MP (Chair) (Lab, Aberdeen South), Mrs Debbie Abrahams MP (Oldham East and Saddleworth), Harriett Baldwin MP (Con, West Worcestershire), Andrew Bingham MP (Con, High Peak), Karen Bradley MP (Con, Staffordshire Moorlands), Sheila Gilmore (Lab, Edinburgh East),  Mr Oliver Heald MP (Con, North East Hertfordshire), Glenda Jackson MP (Lab, Hampstead and Highgate), Brandon Lewis MP, (Con, Great Yarmouth), Stephen Lloyd MP (Lib Dem, Eastbourne), Teresa Pearce MP (Lab, Erith and Thamesmead).

Specific Committee Informationworkpencom@parliament.uk 020 7219 2839

Media Information: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk 020 7219 0724


Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/workpencom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates onlinewww.parliamentlive.tv


Publications/Reports/Reference Material:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

twitter link Facebook link Linked in

Subscribe here


twitter link Facebook link

Featuring Recent Posts WordPress Widget development by YD