Welfare to Work

Work and Pensions Select Committee Announcement

Work and Pensions Committee


Select Committee Announcement

8 December 2011

For Immediate Release:

AN59 2010–12




Proposal to replace DLA with Personal Independence Payment


Monday 12 December 2011, Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

At 4.30 pm


  • Maria Miller MP, Minister for Disabled People, Department for Work and Pensions

  The Work and Pensions Committee has launched an inquiry into the Government’s proposal to introduce Personal Independence Payment (PIP) from 2013, replacing Disability Living Allowance (DLA) for all working age claimants by 2015/16.

PIP will be similar to DLA in that it will be a non-means tested, non-contributory tax-free cash benefit paid to people whose disabilities mean they incur extra costs in everyday life; however, the Government aims to simplify the benefit and reduce expenditure by introducing a new face-to-face assessment for PIP and by changing some of the current rules. The changes include: systematic periodic review of most PIP awards; ending automatic entitlement for specific conditions; replacing DLA’s three rates in the care component with two rates in the new daily living component; and extending the Qualifying Period from 3 months to 6 months.

This is the third, and final, evidence session in the inquiry. The Committee will question the Minister about the Government’s objectives for reform and its assessment of the likely impacts. It will also consider the latest draft of the PIP assessment criteria and plans for the implementation and delivery of the new assessment. The Government’s communication strategy and media coverage of the reforms will also be discussed.

Further information


Written evidence: Interested organisations and individuals were invited to submit written evidence before 2 September 2011. The evidence received has been published on the Committee’s website.

Oral evidence: The Committee heard oral evidence from academics and benefits experts on 19 October 2011 and from disability representative organisations on 23 November. Transcripts are available on the Committee’s website.

Committee membership:  Dame Anne Begg MP (Chair) (Lab, Aberdeen South), Mrs Debbie Abrahams MP (Oldham East and Saddleworth), Harriett Baldwin MP (Con, West Worcestershire), Andrew Bingham MP (Con, High Peak), Karen Bradley MP (Con, Staffordshire Moorlands), Sheila Gilmore (Lab, Edinburgh East),  Mr Oliver Heald MP (Con, North East Hertfordshire), Glenda Jackson MP (Lab, Hampstead and Highgate), Brandon Lewis MP, (Con, Great Yarmouth), Stephen Lloyd MP (Lib Dem, Eastbourne), Teresa Pearce MP (Lab, Erith and Thamesmead).

Specific Committee Informationworkpencom@parliament.uk 020 7219 2839

Media Information: abbottj@parliament.uk 020 7219 0724


Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/workpencom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates onlinewww.parliamentlive.tv


Publications/Reports/Reference Material:

Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

twitter link Facebook link Linked in

Subscribe here


twitter link Facebook link

Featuring Recent Posts WordPress Widget development by YD