Welfare to Work

Work and Pensions Committee Select Committee Press Notice

Work and Pensions Committee
Select Committee Press Notice

AN33 2012–13
24 January 2013
For immediate release

Work and Pensions Committee announces forthcoming evidence session on the Work Programme: experience of different user groups

The Work and Pensions Select Committee will hear evidence from organisations representing particular Work Programme participant groups on Wednesday 30 January. This will be the second oral evidence session of the inquiry.

The Committee published a report on the design and commissioning of the Work Programme in 2011. The current inquiry is following up some of the issues raised in that report, with a focus on the delivery of services and the experience of participants, particularly those who may be considered harder to help into sustained employment.

Details of the session are as follows:

Time/date: Wednesday 30 January at 9.30 am
Location: Grimond Room, Portcullis House


Crisis – Duncan Shrubsole, Director of Policy and External Affairs
Drugscope – Paul Anders, Senior Policy Officer
Mind – Sophie Corlett, Head of External Relations
Scope – Rob Trotter, Senior Research Officer & Public Policy Advisor (Employment and Skills)
Single Parent Action Network – Laura Dewar, Senior Policy & Parliamentary Officer

Further evidence sessions are planned as follows. All meetings will be in a House of Commons Committee room and open to the public. All dates, times and witness details subject to confirmation:

Time/date: Wednesday 13 February at 9.30 am
Witnesses: Work Programme subcontractors and other specialist providers

Time/date: Wednesday 6 March at 9.30 am
Witnesses: The Employment Related Services Association (ERSA, the industry body) and prime providers

Time/date: Wednesday 13 March at 9.30 am
Witnesses: Employers and employers’ organisations

Time/date: Wednesday 20 March at 4.30 pm
Witness: Mr Mark Hoban MP, Minister for Employment, and officials, DWP


Further information

General information about the inquiry:

The written evidence that the Committee has received for this inquiry is available on our website here: www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm201213/cmselect/cmworpen/writev/work/contents.htm

The terms of reference for the inquiry are as follows:

· The differential payments model including: the extent to which it is incentivising providers to help all participants and thereby addressing “creaming and parking”; how effectively the model reflects claimants’ relative needs; and variations in job outcomes between the different payment groups;

· The prime provider model including: its impact on subcontractors; and the extent to which it helps ensure that participants receive services tailored to their particular needs;

· The level of service provided to participants in different payment groups including: whether minimum service delivery standards have been specified in sufficient detail by providers and DWP; and the rigour and effectiveness of DWP’s monitoring and complaints procedures;

· The “black box” approach to service delivery including: whether it is proving to be effective in fostering innovative and personalised interventions for claimants in all payment groups; and DWP’s role in monitoring this; and

· Regional variations in job outcome statistics: including whether competition between providers is driving up performance in contract package areas where the economy is particularly depressed; and how provider performance could be improved in these areas.

Committee membership:
Dame Anne Begg MP (Chair) (Lab, Aberdeen South), Debbie Abrahams MP (Oldham East and Saddleworth), Mr Aidan Burley MP (Con, Cannock Chase), Jane Ellison MP (Con, Battersea), Graham Evans MP (Con, Weaver Vale), Sheila Gilmore MP (Lab, Edinburgh East), Glenda Jackson MP (Lab, Hampstead and Highgate), Stephen Lloyd MP (Lib Dem, Eastbourne), Nigel Mills MP (Con, Amber Valley), Anne Marie Morris MP (Newton Abbot), Teresa Pearce MP (Lab, Erith and Thamesmead).

Specific Committee Information: workpencom@parliament.uk 020 7219 2839
Media Information: abbottj@parliament.uk 020 7219 2003
Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/workpencom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Publications/Reports/Reference Material:
Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Houses of Parliament Shop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk

UK Parliament Disclaimer:
This e-mail is confidential to the intended recipient. If you have received it in error, please notify the sender and delete it from your system. Any unauthorised use, disclosure, or copying is not permitted. This e-mail has been checked for viruses, but no liability is accepted for any damage caused by any virus transmitted by this e-mail.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

twitter link Facebook link Linked in

Subscribe here


twitter link Facebook link

Featuring Recent Posts WordPress Widget development by YD